The Minor in Political Science, offered by the Department of Political Science, enables students to learn about the theory and practice of politics across four established subfields:

  • American politics (including the local, state, and federal levels),
  • comparative (foreign) governments,
  • international relations, and
  • political theory.

Minors are awarded only at the time of completion of the bachelor's degree and cannot be awarded either as a stand-alone program of study or after completion of the first bachelor's degree.

The Political Science Society is the organization for all Political Science majors and minors at Temple University. The purpose of the association is to represent the opinions and interests of undergraduate students within the Political Science department. The association sponsors activities including career forums, lectures, student and faculty mixers, law and graduate forums, seminars on popular topics, and trips to locales like New York City and Washington, DC.

Campus Locations: Main and Japan

Contact Information

Main Campus

Please contact the College of Liberal Arts' Center for Academic Advising for more information on minors, certificates or other CLA programs.

Temple Japan Campus

Masaki Kakizaki, PhD, Political Science Coordinator


Select two of the following:6
The American Political System
Foreign Governments and Politics
International Politics
Introduction to Political Philosophy
Select 4 upper-level courses numbered 2000-4999 112
Total Credit Hours18

With the exception of POLS 2496