Music Studies

Dr. Edward Latham
Music Studies Department Chair

The Music Studies Department consists of three areas;

  • Composition
  • Music History
  • Music Technology
  • Music Theory

The Composition area offers courses in composition for various media, including electronic music. Creativity, the development of personal expression through music, and the assessment of music's role in the 21st-century societal context are the focal points for composition majors.

The Music History area emphasizes a historic and analytical approach to the study of music and the development of scholarly research skills.

The Music Technology area fuses musical skill and technological knowledge that enables one trained in these areas to create works, or to pursue employment or graduate education in an extremely wide variety of areas.

The Music Theory area prepares its majors to be well-rounded practical musicians able to apply skills and knowledge to performance, composition, analysis, research, and teaching.