Minor in Community and Regional Planning

Dr. Lynn A. Mandarano
Chair and Faculty Advisor for Community and Regional Planning Minor
Tyler School of Art Building
Administrative Suite Room 210Y

Students in the Tyler School of Art as well as students in other colleges, schools, and departments may choose to minor in Community and Regional Planning. Through this minor students undertake formal studies about public planning, thereby preparing themselves for contributions as informed citizens, civically engaged professionals, or ultimately as professional planners.

In this 18 credit minor, the required courses provide common background in the basics of planning, including history, theory, comprehensive planning and its components, ethics and principles of planning practice with particular emphasis on citizen participation, and exposure to a range of analytical methods for understanding community planning issues. The four electives allow students to explore interests in different facets of community planning: land use; housing; economic development; transportation; sustainability and environmental planning.

The minor provides students with the background and with stronger credentials to apply for graduate level work in planning.

Minor requirements

Students must earn a minimum grade of C- in courses satisfying minor requirements and must have a minimum 2.0 grade point average in the required 18 credits to earn the minor.

  • A student may not double count any course for the Minor in Community & Regional Planning toward any other major, minor, or certificate.
  • At least half of the courses for the minor must be taken at Temple University.
  • Courses for the minor must be completed prior to graduation.
Required Courses
CRP 1017Introduction to Community and Regional Planning3
CDEV 2596Community Planning Analysis (spring only)3
Four Community & Regional Planning electives numbered 1000-3999 1,212
Total Credit Hours18

Except CRP 3889


One of the four electives may be a course from another subject approved by the Department Chair for Planning and Community Development.